have one on me

you saw me rise to our occasion and so you deny the evidence
you caused me to burn and twist and grimace against you, like something caught on a barbed wire fence

now you can see me fall back here redoubled, full bewildered and amazed
i have gotten into some terrible trouble beneath your blank and rinsing gaze

it does not suffice for you to say i am a sweet boy,
or to say you hate to see me sad because of you.

now everywhere i tried to love you is yours again and only yours.

0 Responses to “have one on me”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

