At about 9.30 this morning – and this is a gruesome one, sorry – parts of a body were found on Upper Brook Street, about two minutes from my house (I’m literally around the corner from the spot the photo accompanying the article was taken; outside of the police cordon though, thank god). I was walking into the faculty around then – I sometimes go via the petrol station where the remains were found, when I need to get money or whatever, but thankfully not today – and didn’t find out until my friends began to turn up and tell me of the roadblocks and police tape everywhere. Chilling stuff, and it’s truly bizarre seeing most of the roads near me barred with thickets of police tape and manned by officers.

* * *

Tomorrow I’m at a conference at Imperial. Conferences are old hat by now, but the blood went to my head when I registered and I offered to give a talk (actually, my supervisor suggested I speak there, but shhh).  So tomorrow, I’m speaking at a conference. Christ. I’m hoping it’ll be fun, and anyway, my nerves are nothing compared to the dread I’m feeling about waking up early tomorrow morning for a 7am train.

0 Responses to “”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

