So, we have a new Prime Minister. There’s been a lot of kneejerk reactions to the Tories getting into power, but I’m too young to really remember the previous Conservative government and I think I’m going to give this one a chance. There are lots of things I’m really not convinced about – George Osborne as Chancellor, the Tories’s laughable opposition to voting reform, Cameron’s huge forehead – and I’m not entirely sure if the Lib Dems were right in hopping into bed with a party who live on the other side of the political spectrum. I’m glad they didn’t prop up Labour, though. I’m not sure if Nick Clegg made the right decision, but he certainly avoided a very wrong one.

It’s been a strange few days, watching all this unfold. When you’re watching history happen, you expect it to be right then and there, not spread over the best part of a week. I felt a strange mix of sadness and relief watching the handover take place last night. It’s certainly not the outcome I’d have chosen, and I have lots of reservations about our new government, but it felt good to finally have some closure after days of rumour and uncertainty. I suppose the uncertainty goes on, though, because we’re yet to see what form the government really takes and, in the longer term, what happens to our country. I’m going to wait and see.

1 Response to “”


  1. 1 darthargance May 13, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    I think the Lib Dems have done the best thing for them as far as they could, tbh. They’ve got more seats now than they ever have before, and with Clegg as deputy they’re in a position to start having some influence on how things are done. I still really dislike Cameron, though. :( x


Leave a Reply

