the heat goes on

How’re things? Things are… well, they just are. When I’m at university, the weeks always pass like this. It’s nice to have a schedule and a routine – one of the things I despise about summer is complete lack of anything even resembling a routine – but I suppose one of the bad things is that, when you’ve got your week timetabled out, everything sort of blurs together. I go to lectures, come home and work, go out with my friends, panic about work, pull a shift at the weekend to get back on top of things, and then the cycle repeats itself. It’s always been like this, and it’s at the same time rather nice and reassuring, and rather frustrating.

Yes, during a given week you have highs and lows, but you know in a week’s time they’ll just be things that happened that don’t matter any more. I broke my glasses on  Monday and felt really shit about it, but come Wednesday evening they were repaired and I was in a bar watching football. And now they’re both things that I’m blogging about – one of them made me feel bad, one of them made me feel good, but right now they’re just things that happened.

I think I’d like something to happen. I wouldn’t say I’m bored – the endless stream of mathematics sees to that – but I can’t avoid this nagging feeling that I’m just marking time until something exciting happens. It’s at times like this that I’m grateful for mathematics, much as it can stress you out sometimes. It’s almost a form of escapism – you can immerse yourself in this world ruled not only by logic and structure, but also by a sense of aesthetics. Everything in mathematics has a rather inevitable beauty about it. It’s my sort of place.

(n.b., I wrote this post yesterday, but couldn’t find a good title for it, so it had to wait. This happens surprisingly often. Hmm.)

2 Responses to “the heat goes on”


  1. 1 darthargance November 22, 2009 at 11:24 am

    Titles are not the most important part of a post. I’m just saying. x

  2. 2 breeves21 November 22, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    Hey we had a routine. Every Tuesday without fail, we would suck at the quiz


Leave a Reply

