life outside the diamond is a wrench

Supervisor to me this morning: “You’re much further ahead than I thought you’d be at this point. You’re going really fast!”

Really? I was really quite worried that I was starting to fall behind with project reading, but it seems not. I’ve come to the conclusion that when I’m set some reading to look at, I’m not expected to tackle all of it before the next meeting. I’m mostly understanding everything so far, though, and it’s not like I’ve been rushing through the material or anything, so it’s all good. Just came as a bit of a surprise – and certainly a nice one – to hear that I was actually making some decent progress.

Yoneda lemma still confusing, but this is an issue for later.  I’ve given up pretending that I’m actually going to do any work on Tuesday evenings. Every week I go into university for 9am, come home after lectures,  watch that week’s How I Met Your Mother, realise that sitting on your bed after being in uni for six hours is really comfortable, stay on the bed for the forseeable future, etc. Deciding that Tuesday evenings are evenings off induces far less guilt than sitting here thinking ‘I really should be working, but.. ‘ would. I have the whole of tomorrow off, anyway, so it’s not like I’m falling behind. Too much.

Mark, 7pm Friday: “Just so you guys know, I’ve decided to stop drinking for a while.”
Mark, 2am Sunday: “I am sooooo drunk right now!”

Am I really that bad an influence? Oh dear. In his drunken state he managed to somewhat injure my knee and nearly get me barred from the library, so I guess karma has evened things out.

5 Responses to “life outside the diamond is a wrench”


  1. 1 darthargance October 27, 2009 at 6:37 pm

    You work far too hard – you will never fall behind, I think. Having one (more?) night off per week will do you no harm at all, probably more good than not doing it, in fact. x

  2. 2 Please. October 28, 2009 at 12:40 am

    Mark, 7pm Friday: Overthinking.
    Mark, 2am Sunday: OverDRINKING! High Five!

  3. 3 darthargance October 30, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    Root, where does the title to this post come from? Cos I heard it in a song today on my iPod and I was like =O. x

  4. 5 darthargance October 30, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    Ahahaha, this the song I was listening to. Off of the Juno soundtrack. I glad it wasn’t a huge coincidence. =) x


Leave a Reply

