no water for the flames

WordPress blog stats are a wonderful thing, even if all they do is appeal to your sense of vanity and serve to remind you that at least someone out there is reading your blog. Today, though, they serve another function. I had three views yesterday. Three. It’s sort of a kick up the backside to sit down and write a blog post.

Tom set the oven on fire last night. I may have been complicit in this also, but shhh. I went for the fire extinguisher, Tom went a little gung ho and tore out the aluminium sheets that were on fire. The oven remained on fire after that, but eventually the flames died down without the need for the fire extinguisher. That would have ruined our dinner.

Every Wednesday I thank the timetabling gods for giving me the day off. Thursday seems to be hand in day for everything ever (okay, two courses, but still), so that works, and it’s nice to have a free day in the middle of the week to just pause and catch up with things. Sadly right now there’s not much pausing and plenty of catching up with things. I’ve got to read and understand like, fifty pages of a textbook for my dissertation, cook/wash up, meet a friend in town, blog (ahah), buy some milk (the rest of the list actually getting done is highly dependent on me drinking lots of tea), attempt some exercises (of the mathematical sort), and put my washing in. And all this before 6pm, because I oh-so-foolishly said I’d go out with Dan tonight. I’m already nostalgic for the lazy, lazy days of summer.

This semester I’ve been compling a list of things I can’t stand. So far it consists of: The scary goth girls who are always outside the Hicks building, people whose Facebook statuses are always about their girlfriend/boyfriend (doubly bad if their significant other also appear in their profile picture), the black coffee in the Union Shop (aka ohgodwhatamidrinkingthistastesliketar), and PMA439. Latest addition: People who shorten their own name in text messages (so I’d write Rty rather than Rooty, say). I’ve learnt to be a little more tolerant of txtspk, but there are some things that remain just not on.

1 Response to “no water for the flames”


  1. 1 darthargance October 21, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    Ah, I would say the drop in stats is largely due to my disappearance off of the face of the earth for the past few days. Well, my trip to London. You’ll see, my obsessive page-watching will send it right back up there. =P

    P.S. I miss your highly stupid face. =)


Leave a Reply

