by the numbers

3am last night: Walking down the hill to my house, with my housemates and a £2 bottle of wine, I  had a thought: I actually love being at university. And sometimes I think I take that for granted a little too much – I have fantastic friends here, my course is absolutely brilliant and I’m finding it very stimulating and fulfilling, and I just feel so settled here in Sheffield. I enjoy every aspect of being at university, really, and I don’t think I appreciate how lucky I am to have that. It wasn’t too long ago that I had very few friends, felt that my course was just an unwated distraction from the important business of being homesick, and hated being here. And I guess lots of people still feel that way – or at least, don’t feel as native as I do these days. Part of settling in somewhere is time, but then there’s other things too, and I think I’m going to try and start being a bit more mindful of the fact that I am really lucky to be enjoying my mathematics and enjoying my life. I’m sure there are lots of people who don’t look forward to a day packed with lectures, y’know?

Waking up today at 12.30pm, I had a thought: never go to bed at 3am. And never, ever drink £2 bottles of rose.

1 Response to “by the numbers”


  1. 1 darthargance October 4, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    I thought this was standard procedure. You know, not drinking bottles of wine that cost £2. Clearly I’m wrong. x


Leave a Reply

